Repair Cafe

The Repair Café is a free space, where people gather in order to fix their broken belongings together. In the Repair Café you can find all the necessary tools and materials, anything that can be used to repair clothes, furniture, electrical devices, bikes, cutlery, electronic devices, toys, etc. Our volunteers-experts help to fix everything that needs to be fixed.

You can also bring your broken things and repair them together with the specialists of The Repair Café. In that case, it turns into an endless learning process! If you have nothing to repair, then you can just come and take a cup of tea or coffee. You can also help someone with mending. Moreover, the visitors can find some inspiration in the books of the ‘DIY’ series, accessible in the Café.

Perm’s Repair Cafés have the format of pop-up events, rather than stationary platforms. Our first Repair Café took place in the Perm City Cultural Center in May 2017. Ten teams of repairers have been unceasingly working to help more than 200 visitors.

This is how it was:

We mostly used Internet and social media platforms to spread out the information, concerning the event. Despite that, a lot of senior ladies, who are used to repairing their broken belongings, participated in the work of The Repair Café. Some of them were visiting the event repeatedly, bringing more broken things, as well as thank-you-chocolate for the repairers.

The Repair Café can particularly interest the senior citizens, who know how to repair things and who have enough spare time at their disposal. The day of the event we had a call from a senior man, who expressed his desire to participate as a repairer. We provided him with a table, that could be used for that.

We saw a big amount of broken laptops, phones and tablets. Therefore, we suggest inviting a sufficient number of repairers, working in that field.

Repairers appreciate it when the visitors accompany them during the repair process, asking questions about the the nature of the breaking, instead of leaving the master one-on-one with the broken thing.

Some visitors were asking for the necessary tools, that would permit them to fix the belonging independently. Usually those were mothers with teenage sons, who needed just a little bit of repairers’ assistance. We think it is important to make this possible.

One mother said the following: ‘When my son was little, I was living alone, so I’ve learnt how to repair any kids’ toys. I can happily share my knowledge in the format of a workshop’. Workshops of the type can become an integral part of The Repair Café.

The Tool Library can perfectly complement the work of The Repair Café.

We are the first to organise this kind of event in Russia, however in other countries this format is quite popular.

If you are interested in opening you own Repair Café, contact Ania (ecoprotest@gmail.com). We will be happy to share our experience, as well as to tell you all the details necessary to organise this event yourself.

Repair Café

Repair Café – это свободное пространство, где люди собираются, чтобы чинить разные вещи вместе. В пространстве Repair Café можно найти инструменты и материалы, которые помогут вам починить всё, что нужно: одежду, мебель, электроприборы, велосипеды, посуду, девайсы, игрушки и т.д. Мы специально зовём волонтёров-экспертов, которые умеют чинить разные предметы.

Вы можете принести свои сломанные вещи из дома и починить их вместе со специалистами в Repair Café. Это будет беспрерывный процесс обучения! Если вам нечего починить, вы можете просто выпить с нами чаю или кофе. Или вы можете помочь кому-нибудь с починкой. Также за специальным столом с книгами вы можете вдохновиться изданиями «Сделай сам».

Мы организуем Repair Café в Перми в виде поп-ап мероприятий, а не постоянно работающего пространства. Первое Repair Café прошло в Центре городской культуры в мае 2017 года, и собрало 10 команд мастеров, которые беспрерывно что-то чинили в течение нескольких часов. За время работы через кафе прошло около 200 человек.

Вот как это было:

  • Несмотря на то, что информация распространялась в основном через интернет и социальные сети, о Repair Café как-то узнали бабушки, которые с детства привыкли, что вещи нужно чинить, а не выбрасывать, поэтому они были очень рады поучаствовать. Некоторые из них приходили на мероприятие несколько раз за день, принося новые и новые вещи и шоколад для мастеров.
  • Одними из самых приверженных и заинтересованных мастеров для Repair Café могут стать пенсионеры, потому что они умеют делать вещи руками и ещё будут рады куда-то себя применить. Нам в сам день проведения мероприятия с утра позвонил один такой мужчина и сказал, что был бы рад помочь с починкой чего угодно. А мы с радостью предоставили ему стол, за которым он мог работать.
  • Самыми популярным для починки стали ноутбуки, телефоны и планшеты. Поэтому для этой категории лучше всего приглашать достаточно мастеров.
  • Самое приятное для мастера – когда человек не оставляет свою вещь и уходит гулять, а садится рядом и интересуется процессом ремонта, задаёт вопросы о причине поломки и о том, как предотвратить это в следующий раз.
  • Часть людей приходили и просили пространство и инструменты, чтобы починить принесённую вещь самостоятельно. Часто это были мамы с сыновьями возраста 13 +, которым нужно было менторство мастеров. Рекомендуем предусмотреть подобную возможность.
  • К нам приходила мама, которая сказала: “Когда мой сын был маленький, я жила одна, поэтому научилась чинить любые детские игрушки. С радостью проведу такой мастер-класс”. Мастер-классы могут стать важной частью работы Repair Café.
  • Repair Café хорошо дополняет формат Банка инструментов (Tool Library).

Мы первые, кто сделал Repair Café в России, однако зарубежом это довольно популярный формат.

Мы будем рады поделиться инструкциями, подсказать, как сделать такое самостоятельно, как найти партнёров и мастеров, а также научить на своих ошибках. Если вам это нужно, напишите Ане.